Taking a break from X? We get it. Sometimes it’s good to take a step back from everything that’s going on. Or if you’re looking for a permanent break, we can help you too. Follow our step-by-step instructions on how to deactivate—or delete—your X account.
Deactivating your X account is the first step to deleting your account permanently. Deactivation lasts 30 days. If you do not access your account within the 30-day deactivation period, your account is deleted and your username will no longer be associated with your account.
Deactivating your X account
Deactivation begins the process to permanently delete your X account. This step initiates a 30-day window that gives you space to decide if you’d like to reactivate your account.
Deactivating your X account means your username (or “handle”) and public profile will not be viewable on x.com, X for iOS or X for Android.
Deleting your X account
After your 30-day deactivation window, your X account is permanently deleted. When you don’t log into your account during the 30-day window, it lets us know you want to permanently delete your X account. Once your account is deleted, your account is no longer available in our systems. You won’t be able to reactivate your previous account and you won’t have access to any old posts.
Once your account is deleted after the 30-day deactivation window, your username will be available for registration by other X accounts.
Top things to know before deactivating your account
Here are a few things to keep in mind if you’ve decided to deactivate or delete your X account:
Deleting your X account won’t delete your information from search engines like Google or Bing because X doesn’t control those sites. There are steps you can take if you contact the search engine.
When you deactivate your X account, mentions of your account’s username in other’s posts will still exist. However it will no longer link to your profile as your profile will no longer be available. If you would like the content to be reviewed under the X Rules, you may file a ticket here.
You don’t have to delete your account to change the username or email associated with your X account. Go to Account information to update that anytime.
Logging into your account within the 30-day deactivation window easily restores your account.
If you want to download your X data, you’ll need to request it before you deactivate your account. Deactivating your account does not remove data from X systems.
X may retain some information on your deactivated account to ensure the safety and security of its platform and people using X. More information can be found here.
If you’re having trouble managing your X account, check out these tips for managing common issues before choosing to delete your X account.
Deactivating your X account does not automatically cancel a X subscription. If you have any active paid subscriptions (e.g., X Premium, Super Follows) purchased through the X app, they will remain active. You can manage these subscriptions through the platform where you originally subscribed. Subscriptions purchased on X.com will automatically cancel after you deactivate your account.
I requested a password reset email, but what if I lose access to my email address that I used to set up my account?
If you lose access to your email address that is connected to your X account, you will need to contact your email service provider. Get help with access to your email address. Deactivation is an action that must be taken by the confirmed account holder or by request of a confirmed account holder. Unless you can contact us from the confirmed email address (or have access to the verified mobile number on the account), we cannot deactivate the account on your behalf. If you do have access to the verified mobile number on your account, then you can request a password reset.
How do I deactivate my locked or suspended account?
faster service and to support our business. Some cookies are necessary to use
our services, improve our services, and make sure they work properly.
Show more about your choices.