Some important things to know about block:
- Accounts you have blocked cannot follow you, and you cannot follow an account you have blocked.
- Blocking an account you are currently following will cause you to unfollow that account (and them to unfollow you). If you decide to unblock that account, you will have to follow that account again.
- Blocked accounts do not receive a notification alerting them that their account has been blocked. However, if a blocked account visits the profile of an account that has blocked them, they will see they have been blocked (unlike mute, which is invisible to muted accounts).
- If you block an account and they choose to report your account, any of your posts that directly mention them will be available for them to view and attach during the reporting process.
- You will not receive notifications from accounts you block, or accounts that you do not follow who mention you in conversations started by accounts that you block. You will, however, see notifications from accounts you follow when they mention you in a conversation started by an account you block. If you’d like to view all of your mentions, you can do so by searching your username.
Blocked accounts cannot:
- Follow you
- View your posts when logged in on X (unless they report you, and your posts mention them)
- Find your posts in search when logged in on X
- Send Direct Messages to you
- View your following or followers lists, likes or lists when logged in on X
- View a Moment you’ve created when logged in on X
- Add your X account to their lists
- Tag you in a photo
posts from blocked accounts will not appear in your timeline. However, please note that you may see posts or notifications in your timeline for the following:
- posts from others you follow that mention accounts you have blocked.
- posts that mention you, along with an account you have blocked.
How do I know if I have blocked someone?
When you visit the profile of an account you have blocked, the Follow button will be replaced by a Blocked button.
The posts of an account you have blocked are hidden when you visit their profile. However, you can see the posts from that account by clicking the Yes, view profile button.
To unblock a X account:
- Visit the blocked account's profile on X.
- Click or tap the Blocked button.
- Confirm you wish to unblock the account by selecting Unblock on X for iOS, and Yes on X for Android.
Sometimes you may find that blocking other accounts isn’t the right solution—it either goes too far or doesn’t go far enough toward changing your X experience. Find a complete list of other actions you can take to improve your X experience.
Additionally, explore our articles about staying safe and in control of your X experience, as well as our trusted resources article for a list of partners we work with to keep people safe across the world.