X is a social broadcast network that enables people and organizations to publicly share brief messages instantly around the world. This brings a variety of people with different voices, ideas, and perspectives. People are allowed to post content, including potentially inflammatory content, as long as they’re not violating the X Rules. It’s important to know that X does not screen content or remove potentially offensive content.
As a policy, we do not mediate content or intervene in disputes between users. However, targeted abuse or harassment may constitute a violation of the X Rules and Terms of Service. If you are a victim of targeted abuse or harassment, read more about online abuse.
Have you seen something on X you disagree with? Here are some tips that may help you deal with your situation:
Consider the context
X lets us participate in broad conversations and connect with people from many corners of the world. While hearing from more people can be enriching, it can also be a source of frustration and misunderstanding if the context of the conversation is not considered. Seeing your username mentioned in a post can be confusing if you don’t understand why it was used.
When you see an upsetting post, step back and consider the larger conversation it may be connected to. Since individual posts are short, the author’s intended meaning may have been lost or distorted. Post back with a reply to join the conversation and surface the concern. Send a Direct Message if you would prefer to communicate privately. Having more information makes it easier to understand the context and can lead to healthy dialogue.
Think before you post
Healthy conversation is a shared responsibility. If your post reply is identified as using potentially harmful or offensive language, we may ask you, via a prompt, if you want to review it before sending. There will be options to send, edit, or delete the post reply. And if you think we make a mistake, you can let us know.
Note: These prompts are only available to people using X in English.
Block and ignore
Understanding the context often diffuses a negative or confusing interaction, but, there are times when further action, like unfollowing or blocking someone, may be more effective. When you block, you will not be notified when they mention you, Repost you, like your content, add you to a list or follow one of your lists. You also won’t see any of these interactions in your timeline.
For more information on how to manage a situation that you believe is abusive, read this article about online abuse.
There are also many online safety resources that can help.