How to control your Twitter experience
Twitter is a place to share ideas and information, connect with your communities, and see the world around you. In order to protect the very best parts of that experience, we provide tools designed to help you control what you see and what others can see about you, so that you can express yourself on Twitter with confidence.
We make it easy for you to take action on a Tweet. Tap the icon at the top of any Tweet, right from your Home timeline, to quickly access options like unfollow, mute, block, report, and more.
Unfollowing is the simplest action you can take to stop seeing someone’s Tweets on your Home timeline. You can always follow an account again if you change your mind. You can access this option from the icon in a Tweet.
Read more about how to unfollow people.
Your Notifications timeline displays your interactions with other Twitter accounts, such as mentions, likes, Retweets, and who has recently followed you. If you’re receiving unwanted replies or mentions from accounts you do not follow, you can filter the types of notifications you receive.
Read instructions for adjusting your Notifications timeline.
Not interested in this
When you mark a Tweet as Not interested in this, it helps Twitter better understand the types of Tweets that you'd like to see less of in your Home timeline. We may use this information to optimize and tailor your experience in the future. You can access this option from the icon in a Tweet.
Muting another Twitter account means you will not see that account's Tweets in your timeline. It’s a great way to stay connected with friends, even if you aren’t interested in seeing all of their Tweets. Muted accounts are not notified that you’ve muted them, and you will still get notifications when they mention you in Tweets and send you Direct Messages. You can also mute accounts you do not follow so that you don’t see their Tweets in your Notifications timeline.
Muting is different than blocking or unfollowing: Accounts you have muted have no way to tell that you are muting them. You can access this option from the icon in a Tweet.
Read more about muting accounts.
When you block an account on Twitter, you restrict that account’s ability to interact with your account. It can be an effective way to handle unwanted interactions from accounts you do not want to engage with.
Accounts you have blocked will not be able to view your Tweets, following or followers lists, likes, or lists when logged in on Twitter, and you will not receive notifications of mentions directly from those accounts. You’ll also stop seeing their Tweets in your timeline.
Blocked account may notice you have blocked them if they try to visit your profile or follow you, but they will not receive any notifications that you have blocked them. You can access this option from the icon in a Tweet.
Read more about blocking accounts.
If you think an account or Tweet is in violation of the Twitter Rules or our Terms of Service, tell us about it by reporting the account or Tweet to us. Some of the violations you can report include: abuse, sensitive media, impersonation, and spam. Submitting a report will take a few steps, but your report will help us make Twitter a better place for everyone. You can access this option from the icon in a Tweet.
Read more what you can report to Twitter.
Control the media you see in Tweets
Your Privacy and safety settings include Tweet media options, if you decide that you want to see a warning over media in Tweets that may contain sensitive content. Your settings default is to provide the warning, but you can change the setting at any time.
Read more about how to control the media you see in Tweets.
Control what others see about you
Protect your Tweets
Protecting your Tweets means your Tweets will only be visible to your followers. With your Tweets protected, you have control of your Twitter experience: every time someone wants to follow your account, you have the choice to accept or decline their request.
Any accounts that were following you before your Tweets were protected will continue to follow you (which means you will not have to approve them again), but you can stop them from following you by blocking them.
Read more about public and protected Tweets.
Tagging friends in photos can be a great way to stay connected, but you might decide you want your Twitter experience to be more private. You can choose between allowing anyone, just friends, or no one to tag you in photos.
Read about changing your photo tagging settings.
Finding friends and people you care about on Twitter can lead to a great experience, and by using your email address or phone number we can help you easily make those connections.
However, you may prefer to find friends and contacts without our help, and adjusting the setting to keep your account from being discoverable in this way is easy. Read more about discoverability settings and how to change your discoverability.
Sharing your location in Tweets
Twitter lets you select whether to include your location on each individual Tweet. While sharing your location allows your followers to comment and make recommendations on things to do or places to go, there are also risks involved with sharing your location publicly. Since you may not know all your followers, it’s a good idea to be conscious of what you are choosing to share.
You can flag your own Tweets as possibly containing sensitive media so that other people will see a warning before the media is displayed.
Read more about how to mark the media in your Tweets as containing sensitive content.
Know what information you are providing third-party applications
Other companies have developed applications to broaden your Twitter experience. Before connecting to a third-party application, be sure to visit their website and familiarize yourself with their Terms of Service. Learn more about authorizing and connecting to a third party application.