How to use the Teams feature on TweetDeck

TweetDeck’s teams feature allows multiple people to share a Twitter account without having to share the password.

When a team member logs in to TweetDeck with their own Twitter account, they will see the shared account in their Accounts tab, and in their New Tweet panel. Team members can enable login verification on their own accounts, which will keep their account secure (as well as any additional accounts in their TweetDeck).

With the teams feature, an account owner can grant individuals account access, without having to share their password with other people:

Owner

  • Can manage password, phone number, and login verification settings.
  • Can invite others to access the account as admins or contributors.
  • Can take action on behalf of the team account (Tweet, Retweet, Direct Message, like, etc.), schedule Tweets, create lists, and build collections.

Admin

  • Can invite others to access the account as admins or contributors.
  • Can take action on behalf of the team account (Tweet, Retweet, Direct Message, like, etc.), schedule Tweets, create lists, and build collections.

Contributor

  • Can take action on behalf of the team account (Tweet, Retweet, Direct Message, like, etc.), schedule Tweets, create lists, and build collections.

Account actions vary slightly by client. For instructions on how to get started via TweetDeck and the Twitter for iOS or Android apps, check out the following articles:

Note: Account owners are responsible for the content posted to their accounts by authorized admins and contributors.

Sharing access to an account

To set up your team:

  1. Log in to TweetDeck with the account you wish to share access to.
  2. Click Accounts in the navigation bar.
  3. Select the account you’d like to share access to and click the Manage team button.
  4. Type the name or @username of the person you’d like to invite in the Add a team member field.
  5. Click Authorize. Once you have authorized someone, they’ll receive an email, an invitation in the Accounts panel of their TweetDeck, and a push notification.
  6. The new team member will need to accept the invitation to begin using the shared account.

Note: You might want to add your own Twitter account as an admin so that you can manage the team from your own TweetDeck. You can add up to 200 team members.

Managing a team

Only the owner of the shared account manages the password, phone number, and login verification settings.

Both owners and admins can manage the team.

To change a role or remove a team member via TweetDeck:

  1. Click Accounts in the navigation bar.
  2. Select the account you’d like to manage.
  3. Click Manage team to open the list of team members.
  4. Find the person whose role you’d like to change and click Change role.
  5. Select Contributor, Admin or Remove from team.
  6. Confirm your selection.

Note: Contributors do not have the ability to manage team accounts. Only admins can manage the team.

View instructions for:
  • See iOS instructions
  • See Android Instructions
  • See desktop instructions

Joining a team

When you’re invited to join a team, you’ll receive an email notification as well as a notification in your TweetDeck account. Additionally, you will receive a push notification to your Twitter for iOS app.

  1. In the top menu, tap your profile icon.
  2. Tap Team requests.
  3. Under Team requests, tap the check icon  to accept, or tap the delete icon  to decline the invitation.

As a member of a team, you can post Tweets, Direct Message, like, and Retweet. You cannot change the password or manage account settings.

Joining a team

When you’re invited to join a team, you’ll receive an email notification as well as a notification in your TweetDeck account. Additionally, you will receive a push notification to your Twitter for Android app.

  1. In the top menu, you will either see a navigation menu icon  or your profile icon. Tap whichever icon you have.
  2. Tap on Team requests.
  3. Under Team requests, tap the check icon  to accept, or tap the delete icon  to decline the invitation.

As a member of a team, you can post Tweets, Direct Message, like, and Retweet. You cannot change the password or manage account settings.

Joining a team

When you’re invited to join a team, you’ll receive an email notification as well as a notification in your TweetDeck account. Additionally, you will receive a push notification to your Twitter for iOS or Android app.

  1. From TweetDeck: Click Accounts in the navigation bar. You’ll see the Twitter account of the team you’ve been invited to join.
  2. Click Accept or Decline.
  3. If you accept, that account will now be shown in the Accounts tab, and your New Tweet panel.

As a member of a team, you can post Tweets, Direct Message, like, and Retweet. You cannot change the password or manage account settings.

Removing yourself from a team

If you no longer wish to be on a team you can remove yourself from that team.

To remove yourself from a team via TweetDeck:

  1. Click Accounts in the navigation bar.
  2. Select the account for which you wish to remove yourself from the team.
  3. Click Leave team.
  4. Confirm your selection by clicking Leave.

I don’t want to be invited to join teams. How can I change my settings?

You can change your settings to adjust who can invite you to a team on Twitter for teams section of your Privacy and safety settings on twitter.com.

I’ve previously given out the password for an account. How do I manage who now has access?

Your list of team members shows everyone who currently has access to this account in TweetDeck, including those who have historically been given the password, as well as those who have been added as Contributors or Admins.

If there is a person showing in the list who should not have access, click Change role next to the person and select Remove from team. This will revoke access for that person in TweetDeck. For extra security, change your password and review which apps are authorized to access your account at twitter.com/settings/applications.

I also own the other accounts I use in TweetDeck. How do I manage the team?

If you also own a sub-account and would like to view and manage its list of team members, you will need to log out of the account you are currently logged in to, then log back in to the desired account.

What will happen to my team members if I revoke TweetDeck access to my Twitter account?

Your team members won’t lose access to your Twitter account unless you remove them from the team list in TweetDeck. Revoking App access to TweetDeck will not affect the list of team members.

What will happen to my team members if I change the password for my Twitter account?

Your team members won’t lose access to the account if you change the password. We encourage you to update the password so that only you (as the owner, or person who manages the account) knows it.

Can I use Teams outside of TweetDeck?

Yes, you can Tweet, Direct Message, like, or Retweet from a team account from the Twitter for iOS or Android apps.

Can I manage a team without using TweetDeck?

The team management features are only available in TweetDeck. To add new members or change the role of existing members, you must log in to TweetDeck.

How do I ensure my team members keep their account safe?

Using the teams feature means that your team members log in to TweetDeck with their Twitter account. They can enable login verification for the account they use to log into TweetDeck to help keep all shared accounts secure.

How can I unsubscribe from email notifications on team accounts?

Twitter sends an email notification when you are invited to join a team account and when someone is invited to be on the team for one of your accounts. We think that this is an important notification about your team, so there is no unsubscribe option for them. If you wish to stop receiving “you’ve been invited” email notifications, you can change your settings to adjust who can invite you to a team by visiting your Privacy and safety settings on twitter.com.

I’m not able to add a particular person to my team. What should I do?

The person may have privacy settings enabled that prevents them from being added to a team. Talk to the team member to check whether this is the case. They can temporarily disable the setting in the Twitter for teams section of their Privacy and safety settings page on twitter.com to accept a new invitation.

Bookmark or share this article

Was this article helpful?

Thank you for the feedback. We’re really glad we could help!

Thank you for the feedback. How could we improve this article?

Thank you for the feedback. Your comments will help us improve our articles in the future.