goglobalwithtwitterbanner

How to manage your Periscope account

Important: Update as of March 31, 2021: Periscope and the Super Broadcaster program have shut down. Read Periscope FAQs

How do I edit my Periscope privacy settings?

Your Periscope privacy settings can be edited on iOS, Android, and web. These settings allow you to:

  • Turn the Superfans feature on or off. Turning off Superfans means that you will not have Superfans on your profile and you will not show up on someone else’s Superfan list.
  • Choose whether or not you want us to show you broadcasts similar to those you have watched before. Note: this setting is only supported on iOS and Android.
  • Choose whether or not you want others on Periscope to find you using your Facebook friend list. Note: you’ll only see this setting if you have a Facebook account connected to your Periscope account.

To edit your privacy settings through iOS or Android

  1. Sign into your Periscope account.
  2. Tap on the People Tab in the bottom right corner of the screen.
  3. Tap on your Profile icon in the upper right corner of the screen and select Settings.
  4. Scroll down to Privacy.
  5. Tap the switch to turn each setting on or off.

To edit your privacy settings on web

  1. Sign into your Periscope account.
  2. Click on your profile icon and select Settings from the drop-down menu.
  3. Click the switch to turn each setting on or off.

How to view and download your Periscope data

Your Periscope data dashboard gives you access to a snapshot of your Periscope information to date, including broadcast, chat, and personalization metrics. To access your data dashboard, log in to your Periscope account on web

To request your data, select Send Data Request below the first of three dots you’ll see at the top of the dashboard. Once your request is complete, you’ll be able to view your dashboard on this page and download your data by selecting Download Data File.

Downloads will be valid for 7 days. Once a download expires, you can request a new one, which will include your most recent data.

How to download your broadcasts

To download your broadcasts, log into your Periscope account on the web and visit the download dashboard page.

To request your data, select Send Data Request below the first of three dots you’ll see at the top of the dashboard. Once your request is complete, scroll down to see a list of your broadcasts, and click the Download button next to any broadcast you wish to download locally to your computer.

The Download links will be valid for 7 days. Once the links expire, you can click Send Data Request again, which will include your most recent data.

How do I deactivate my account on the web?

  1. Sign into your Periscope account.
  2. Click on your profile icon and select Settings from the drop-down menu.
  3. Click Deactivate Account.
  4. A modal will pop up on your screen. Click Deactivate Account to confirm the account deactivation.

We updated the Periscope User Agreement, including our Terms of Service, and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018. If you choose not to accept the updated agreement, you can select Decline & Deactivate Account which will take you to a modal where you can choose to Download Personal Data and Deactivate Account.

When you select Deactivate Account, you will be prompted to confirm your decision before your account is deactivated. Selecting Download Personal Data will pull up a loading indicator while your request is being processed. Once your request is complete, a file containing your data will be downloaded.

You can reactivate your account by signing into it, as long as it has not been deleted (which will occur within 30 days). Please note that if you deactivate your account because you do not agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy, you must agree to our Policies on iOS, Android, or web before you can reactivate your account.

If you don't want to deactivate your account but instead want to change who can see it, you can learn more about private broadcasts, deleting or expiring your broadcasts, or blocking.

I lost my phone. How do I log out of my Periscope account?

If you have lost your phone and need to log out of your existing Periscope account for security reasons, please follow the steps below on either an iOS or Android device (not available on web).

If you signed up for Periscope using Twitter:

  1. Go to your Twitter settings on a desktop (not mobile), and select the Revoke access button for Periscope. You will also need to select Revoke access for Twitter for iOS or Twitter for Android, depending on your device.
  2. After you download the Periscope app on your new phone, log into your Periscope account.
  3. Select Profile > Settings > Log out of all devices.
  4. You can log back in on your new phone.

If you signed up for Periscope with your phone number

  1. After you download the Periscope app on your new phone, log into your Periscope account.
  2. Select Profile > Settings > Logout of all devices.
  3. You can log back in on your new phone.

What if I delete my Twitter account or change my phone number?

Your Twitter account, Facebook account, Google account, or phone number (depending on which you used to sign up) is the key to your Periscope account. A Twitter account can only access one Periscope account the same way that a phone number can only access one Periscope account. If you lose access to account you use to log into your account  or change your phone number, you will not be able to access your Periscope account.

 

Bookmark or share this article