How to block accounts on Twitter

Block is a feature that helps you control how you interact with other accounts on Twitter. This feature helps users in restricting specific accounts from contacting them, seeing their Tweets, and following them.

Note: Learn about our advanced block options for more detailed information on this feature.

Some important things to know about block:

  • Accounts you have blocked cannot follow you, and you cannot follow an account you have blocked.
  • Blocking an account you are currently following will cause you to unfollow that account (and them to unfollow you). If you decide to unblock that account, you will have to follow that account again.
  • Blocked accounts do not receive a notification alerting them that their account has been blocked. However, if a blocked account visits the profile of an account that has blocked them, they will see they have been blocked (unlike mute, which is invisible to muted accounts).
  • If you block an account and they choose to report your account, any of your Tweets that directly mention them will be available for them to view and attach during the reporting process.
  • You will not receive notifications from accounts you block, or accounts that you do not follow who mention you in conversations started by accounts that you block. You will, however, see notifications from accounts you follow when they mention you in a conversation started by an account you block. If you’d like to view all of your mentions, you can do so by searching your username.

 

Important: Blocking only works if the account you’ve blocked is logged in on Twitter. For example, if the account you’ve blocked isn't logged in or is accessing Twitter content via a third party, they may be able to see your public Tweets. Please keep this in mind when you choose to share content on Twitter.

Blocked accounts cannot:

  • Follow you
  • View your Tweets when logged in on Twitter (unless they report you, and your Tweets mention them)
  • Find your Tweets in search when logged in on Twitter
  • Send Direct Messages to you
  • View your following or followers lists, likes or lists when logged in on Twitter
  • View a Moment you’ve created when logged in on Twitter
  • Add your Twitter account to their lists
  • Tag you in a photo

Tweets from blocked accounts will not appear in your timeline. However, please note that you may see Tweets or notifications in your timeline for the following:

  1. Tweets from others you follow that mention accounts you have blocked.
  2. Tweets that mention you, along with an account you have blocked.
View instructions for:

How to block a Twitter account

To block from a Tweet

  1. Tap the  icon located at the top of a Tweet from the account you wish to block.
  2. Tap Block, and then select Block to confirm.

To block from a profile

  1. Visit the profile page of the account you wish to block.
  2. Tap the overflow icon 
  3. Tap Block, and then select Block to confirm.

How to block a Twitter account

To block from a Tweet

  1. Tap the  icon located at the top of a Tweet from the account you wish to block.
  2. Tap Block, and then select Block to confirm.

To block from a profile

  1. Visit the profile page of the account you wish to block.
  2. Tap the overflow icon 
  3. Tap Block, and then select Block to confirm.

How to block a Twitter account

To block from a Tweet

  1. Click the  icon located at the top of a Tweet from the account you wish to block.
  2. Click Block, and then select Block to confirm.

To block from a profile

  1. Go to the profile page of the account you wish to block.
  2. Click the more  icon on their profile page.
  3. Select Block from the menu.
  4. Click Block to confirm.

How do I know if I have blocked someone?

When you visit the profile of an account you have blocked, the Follow button will be replaced by a Blocked button.

The Tweets of an account you have blocked are hidden when you visit their profile. However, you can see the Tweets from that account by clicking the Yes, view profile button.

To unblock a Twitter account:

  1. Visit the blocked account's profile on Twitter.
  2. Click or tap the Blocked button. 
  3. Confirm you wish to unblock the account by selecting Unblock on Twitter for iOS, and Yes on Twitter for Android.

More resources

Sometimes you may find that blocking other accounts isn’t the right solution—it either goes too far or doesn’t go far enough toward changing your Twitter experience. Find a complete list of other actions you can take to improve your Twitter experience.

Additionally, explore our articles about staying safe and in control of your Twitter experience, as well as our trusted resources article for a list of partners we work with to keep users safe across the world.

Bookmark or share this article

Was this article helpful?

Thank you for the feedback. We’re really glad we could help!

Thank you for the feedback. How could we improve this article?

Thank you for the feedback. Your comments will help us improve our articles in the future.