Help with an email, phone number, or username that's already in use
If you're trying to create an account but are told your email address, username, or phone number are already in use on Twitter, here are a few explanations why:
If your information is associated with a deactivated account
When you deactivate an account, the username and email addresses will be unavailable to use on another account for 30 days after the date of deactivation.
If it has been more than 30 days since you deactivated the account, please contact our support team. They will not be able to restore your account, but can make sure your information gets cleared from our system.
If your username or email address is associated with a suspended account
Usernames and email addresses attached to suspended accounts are not available for use under any circumstances.
If there is another active account on Twitter using your email address or username
An email address can only be associated with one Twitter account at a time. You may own another account on Twitter if your information is not available.
To check if your username in already in use, try plugging the username into this URL: twitter.com/[enter username here]. If there is no account at that URL, the username is most likely attached to a deactivated or suspended account.
Note: If you don't delete your phone number from your Settings before deactivating an account, you won't be able to use the phone number on another account for 30 days.
Share this article