How to deactivate your account

Deactivation puts your account in a queue for deletion from Twitter. Deactivation must be done by accessing twitter.com on the web.

Note: If you are having an account issue (e.g. missing Tweetsincorrect follower or following countssuspicious Direct Messages or potential account compromise), deactivating and reactivating your account will not resolve it. Please refer to our troubleshooting articles or contact Support.

How to deactivate your account

  1. On the web via twitter.com, click on Settings and privacy from the drop-down menu under your profile icon.
  2. Click on Deactivate your account at the bottom of the page.
  3. Read the account deactivation information. Click Deactivate @username.  
  4. Enter your password when prompted and verify that you want to deactivate your account.

Before you deactivate your account, you should know

  • You do not need to deactivate your account to change your username or email address; you can change it at any time in your account settings.
  • To use a username or email address on another account, you must first change them and then confirm the change prior to deactivation.  See the below section on how to make your username or email address available for re-use before deactivating your account.
  • We do not control content indexed by search engines like Google or Bing.
  • When deactivated, your Twitter account, including your display name, username, and public profile, will no longer be viewable on twitter.com, Twitter for iOS, and Twitter for Android.
  • For up to 30 days after deactivation it is still possible to restore your Twitter account if it was accidentally or wrongfully deactivated.

How to make your username or email address available for re-use before deactivating your account

  1. On the web via twitter.com, click on Settings and privacy from the drop-down menu under your profile icon
  2. In the username field, choose a new username.
  3. In the email address field, change your email address to a new address you own.
  4. Click Save changes at the bottom of the page.  
  5. Enter your password when prompted to confirm that you want to save your changes.
  6. Confirm the new email address via a link we send to you (very important!)
  7. Your email and username will now be available to use on a new account if you choose to sign up again during the 30 day deactivation period.
  8. Proceed with deactivation as listed above.

Bookmark or share this article

Was this article helpful?

Thank you for the feedback. We’re really glad we could help!

Thank you for the feedback. How could we improve this article?

Thank you for the feedback. Your comments will help us improve our articles in the future.